Founded in 1878 as Newton Heath L&YR Football Club, our club has operated for over 138 years. The team first entered the English First Division, then the highest league in English football, for the start of the 1892-93 season

Manchester United

Our club name changed to Manchester United Football Club in 1902, and we won the first of our 20 English League titles in 1908.

The Theatre of Dreams

In 1910, we moved to Old Trafford, our current stadium.


In the late 1940s, we returned to on-field success, winning the FA Cup in 1948 and finishing within the top four league positions during each of the first five seasons immediately following the Second World War. During the 1950s, we continued our on-field success under the leadership of manager Sir Matt Busby

Sir Alex Ferguson

In 1986, our club appointed Sir Alex Ferguson as manager. Since 1992, we have won the Premier League 13 times. In total, we have won a record 20 English League titles, a record 12 FA Cups, 4 League Cups, 3 European Champions Cups and 1 FIFA Club World Cup, making us one of the most successful clubs in England.